What is Block Sender option in Gmail?

Like other social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, etc., Gmail also has a new feature to block or unsubscribe someone from the sender. If you are receiving emails from someone with whom you don’t want to connect anymore, so now you can block their email address from your Gmail by following simple steps. In this topic, we will explain the detailed steps to block someone on Gmail, and further, we will discuss the differences between the Block Sender and Report Sender. The three basic steps to block Gmail sender are:

  • Open a Gmail inbox message from that unwanted sender.
  • Select the option “Block [Name of Sender],” from the drop-down list.
  • Give the confirmation.
What is Block Sender Option in Gmail?
What is Block Sender Option in Gmail?

In this topic, we will explain the detailed steps to block someone on Gmail, and further, we will discuss the differences between the “Block Sender” and “Report Sender.”

What will happen after blocking someone on Gmail?

Once you block some email address on Gmail, the future messages or emails from that sender will be marked as Spam. Because when you block some particular email address, a filter is created, and messages from that sender will automatically go to the spam folder instead of your inbox.

Note: Blocking someone on Gmail doesn’t mean that the unwanted sender would not be able to send you the emails. But by blocking them, you will not receive those messages in your inbox.

Steps to block a sender on Gmail

Steps to block a sender using the computer:

The below steps are for the Computer, and these steps are the same for all OS.

  • Login to your Gmail account using Id and password. (If already logged in, skip this step).

  • Open the inbox.
  • Find and open any message of that unwanted sender.
  • Open the drop-down list by clicking on the three stacked dots given at the upper right corner of the screen. Consider the below snap:
Block someone on Gmail
Block someone on Gmail
  • Select the “Block [Sender-Name]” from the list.
  • A new window will pop-up, click on “Block” to confirm.
Block someone on Gmail
Block someone on Gmail
  • After confirming the below screen appears:

Hence this particular sender email is now blocked successfully, and the future emails from this sender will redirect to the spam folder.

Note: If you changed the mind or blocked by mistake and want to unblock to get the emails in your inbox. Then, lick to the “Unblock Sender” option by following the same steps given above.

Steps to block a sender using Android:

To block someone from Gmail using an Android phone, follow the below steps:

  • Open your Gmail Application on your Android phone.
  • Open the message of the unwanted sender.
  • Click the three stacked dots at the top right corner of the message.
  • A drop-down list appears.

What is the difference between “Blocking” On Gmail and “Reporting Spam”?

As we have seen in the above discussion, that blocking someone will route the future emails of the unwanted sender to the spam folder. And reporting spam also does the same, so what is the difference between both.

Actually, there are two minor differences between both things, which are given as:

  • When you block someone, the future messages from that sender will be routed to the spam folder directly until you unblock that sender. But by reporting spam does not guarantee to put all future messages in the spam folder, and it depends on the type of content of that email.
  • Once you “report spam” a particular message in Gmail, it immediately moves to the spam folder. But when you “Block sender,” that particular message does not move immediately to the spam folder and gives you an option to do it manually (as given in the 7th step).

 

About the Author: Admin

You May Also Like

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Our Community Of Bloggers